Uncategorized

Kinderwagon Hop 2.0 Review

I really, really love this stroller. It turns out that after owning it a month, it became increasingly difficult to push. In the mall, with an 18 lb 7 month old, I struggled to push it straight gripping hard with both hands. There were words I won’t put here for what I called it at that point.

I had been talking to their Kinderwagon’s Customer Service from day one about the stroller. It never *quite* lined up when it came out of the box. After unboxing, things are a bit squishy, so they recommended letting it settle. It never quite got right. After the disaster at the mall, I emailed them and said that it had to be broken, it had to be. Turns out, it was. They were kind enough to send me a replacement. Which was perfect.

First off, no tandem stroller fully loaded with kids is going to ride amazing. It’s funny to me because if you aren’t a stroller addict, you may never know how bad your stroller is until you try another one. The Kinderwagon Hop is really great given its footprint. My husband was able to meander around IKEA for a full hour with both girls strapped in while I was trying to order my new kitchen. People stopped him to ask about the stroller. So much love.

Things to know? This stroller is tight quarters. The distance between seats is about 6 inches.    he seat itself is also narrow, so my 38 inch toddler in the back was definitely hitting the front seat with her knees. This did not bother her AT ALL. She loved it. She was thrilled to tuck in with her sister in front and go for a ride. And with two parents, we were able to manage the hop in/hop out situation pretty easily.

What was challenging was trying to get my toddler to sit in front. She fit fine up there, and the stroller mostly handled well with her in front and back, but she would drop her feet off the foot rest. It wasn’t a deal killer, but annoying once she figured it out.

This stroller is solid. I was able to lightly jog between driveways during the snow to get to a cleared path and was surprised at how stable it felt. It’s compact and well thought out in terms of weight.    he canopy is not amazing for the front rider, but is much better than led to believe when you read reviews. The rain canopy clips to the canopy itself and folds to almost nothing. Which, as a mama who hates extra stuff, makes it likely that I’ll keep it around and not get caught in the rain without it (as is usually the case).

I’m not going to list pros and cons, mostly because there are very few cons about this stroller once you accept that it is a compact tandem. You can’t fault it for what it is not. It’s not the Tardis, people. No stroller is.

That said, if there’s a Tardis stroller, I’d be first in line for it.    

2 thoughts on “Kinderwagon Hop 2.0 Review”

    1. I love how neglectful I am with this site. Whoops. I think we’ve talked in the SQ group. Love your website, I would have had the snap duo if I hadn’t read your review. Totally agreed on all points. Wish there was a place for real nerds/queens to mingle. Emmalunga, Easywalkers, and Air Buggy… 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment